Southampton professor honored for outstanding contributions to electrical power engineering | Electronics and IT

Posted: March 12, 2021

Professor Paul Lewin

Professor Paul Lewin received the 2021 IEEE Eric O Forster Distinguished Service Award for significant advancements in the field of dielectrics and electrical insulation.

The prestigious honor of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society (DEIS) recognizes outstanding contributions and sustained leadership in its field.

Professor Lewin is the director of the Tony Davies High Voltage Laboratory, an active center on the Highfield campus for commercial research and testing. He is Professor of Electrical Power Engineering and Head of Electronics and Computing (ECS), having built an international reputation for his work in high voltage engineering over three decades at Southampton.

Professor Lewin said: “I am delighted to accept this award, I think it truly reflects the achievements of the Tony Davies High Voltage Laboratory and our international standing, especially in terms of our work on dielectric materials and insulation. electric.

“As we move towards a future that relies more on sustainable green electric power, there are real research challenges to be resolved in order to ensure the reliability and long-term performance of high voltage equipment and their systems. electrical insulation. I am very happy that our contributions in this area have been recognized.

The biennial award, which was first awarded in 1992, is named in honor of the late Eric O Forster for his distinguished service on behalf of DEIS.

Paul C Gaberson, President of DEIS, said: “I have known Professor Lewin personally for several years and can attest to his dedication to the field of dielectrics, his students, his university and the IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society ( DEIS Paul sets an example and is always ready to bring his enthusiasm and energy when asked to participate in a project.

“He has supported DEIS in many volunteer positions including AdCom Secretary, Technical Vice President, Administrative Vice President and President. . The Society has benefited greatly from his contributions.

Professor Lewin joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at Southampton in 1989, before moving to electronics and computing in 1999. Over the course of his career he has received funding and grants of over $ 30 million. pounds sterling, supervised 50 graduate students until successful completion of their doctorate. theses and published more than 500 conference and peer-reviewed journal articles.

He is a Chartered Engineer, member of the IET and IEEE, and was General Chairman of the 2007 IEEE International Solid Dielectrics Conference and the 2015 IEEE Electrical Insulation Conference. In 2016, he was appointed Head of the DHW.

The University of Southampton was ranked first in the UK for Electrical and Electronic Engineering in the Guardian University Guide 2021. The ranking marks Southampton’s eleventh consecutive year in the Guide’s top 10 UK subjects, having also been ranked first from 2011. -14 and again from 2016-17.

Articles that might also interest you

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.